Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in our Early Years follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The EYFS Curriculum has seven main areas of learning.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

A practical, playful approach to learning, based on the needs and interests of our children, is delivered mainly through topic based planning which is supported by good quality texts. We teach children individually, in small groups and in whole cohorts. Through a combination of teacher input and Continuous Provision opportunities, learning is planned to encourage children to develop their learning independently through exploration and challenge. The Characteristics of Effective Learning are at the heart of the EYFS Curriculum and explore different ways in which children learn. They highlight the importance of playing and learning, active learning and thinking critically. All the learning experiences we plan for the children allow them to utilise and develop these skills. Our learning environments are stimulating and exciting and relevant to the needs and stage of our children.

Parent EYFS Information Booklet

Please have a look below at our information booklet or pick one up at the end of the main corridor.